My Friend

I honestly feel that I don’t deserve to write this.  I only know this man through wp, but he is a friend to me and I’ve missed his friendship.  Maybe many of you do too because I know that many of my followers, are Sam’s followers too.  I have been so saddened by his car accident and coma.  It makes me feel strange because I only know him through this site and I can’t quite figure out where to place the hurt and sadness I feel from his absence.  I can’t figure out where to place the sadness I feel for his daughters, that I do not know, but because I know, those sweet girls he loves so much are confused, sad, and scared. I can only imagine how much they’re missing him.  His girlfriend who he has been so excited about, updates us all on here and I feel so sad for her.  I know she has no idea how to handle this (no one can prepare for an accident) as her heart aches for him.   I feel selfish saying how much I miss him, as I only know him through writing and emailing, but I do.  He is my friend and I could count on his support, but I didn’t realize it until now.  He has a crazy sense of humor, like I do, and he could hold his own with me even when I went off in left field and he had no idea what I was talking about.  He still laughed and made me laugh all the time.  I miss him.  When I disappear on here for a few days or a week, he checks on me.  What a heart of gold this man has.  He shared his stories, his heartaches, and his happiness and he listened to mine (as many of you do on here).  He understands how hard it was to parent children alone when you aren’t with the other parent anymore.  How lonely that could be.  Sam also let me flirt with him and knew I meant nothing of it, nothing threatening.  I mean he is skilled at the art of flirting himself.  I trust no one, especially men, and I could do this with him because I knew we lived far apart and he wasn’t a threat.  I mean he has no idea what I even look like so I felt very safe joking around with him. It made me feel like my old trusting self, a little.  It made me feel normal.  I miss that.  I miss him.

All of this has made me realize how important and special you all are to me and I want each and every one of you know that.  I feel like many of you are my friends and I have been lucky receiving the support you freely give me.  I hope I’ve helped some of you the way that you have helped me.   It has saved me from sinking lower on the days that I feel broken and it has made me feel stronger on the days I feel like I’ve got this!

I will end this by saying that we should all pray for Sam, for his recovery.  We should all join together and pray for him, his family, his friends, his Parker.  I believe in the power of prayer.  I think he needs us to pull together and do this for him.  If you don’t know him, pray for him anyway.  He’s a good man.

Thank you.

iom ~ Heather

25 thoughts on “My Friend

Leave a Reply

