Single Mom Loneliness

At the pool recently I was asked by another single mom about the behavior of my ex and another pool mom’s ex husband’s behavior.  She didn’t understand why they went to so much effort to do these inconsiderate, pointless things.  Her ex isn’t like that.  They co-parent together well.  They help each other out when needed and they still enjoy their children together.  They respect each others position in their children’s lives.  My ex controls child support and alimony.  He pays this much this month, another amount the next, and none the next.  He waits until I’m heading to the child support services and deposited almost the correct amount for that month.  Most of the time it is short a couple of hundred but it’s enough to stop me in my tracks.  I am trying to keep this pleasant for our children.  As soon as I go to court to file he is going to become a ragging bull and to hurt me he will take it out on our children.  He knows this is where it hurts me the most.  To see them sad and hurt.  My pool friend couldn’t wrap her head around that.  She said it didn’t’ make sense.  That’s the thing, it doesn’t have to when you’re dealing with someone with a personality disorder.  They are mostly concerned with how they are being treated unfairly and for revenge they have to hurt who they feel is mistreating them even when their methods are completely insane.  Remember, my husband was the one who was busted for having an affair with a daytime stripper in a secret apartment and because I found the apartment, discovered his secret life and took a go pro containing evidence, he felt I was treating him unfairly.  So what does he do to retaliate?  He comes to our home, while I’m hiding out broken hearted and afraid with our children, and decides to take all my deceased parents jewelry, photos, and to get me back even more, he takes the kids Wii-u.  Is there anyone out there that thinks that sounds like a normal way of reacting to hurting his family?  I hope not.  See…bizarre thought pattern that makes no sense.  You can’t explain it to someone that hasn’t experienced it.  They think you’re dramatic 🙄.  My friend’s cluster b decided to punish her by taking away her ability to talk to her children except for a small amount of minutes a day when he has them.  Even if they get scared at night or sick and want to talk to her, they can’t unless they decide not to talk to her during their alloted time but instead save their minutes for just in case.  She doesn’t restrict his communication with them but he rarely calls them anyway.  He just wanted this control. For what you ask….to hurt his ex-wife because he could.  None of it had to do with what was best for their children.  Ugh, its exhausting.

So here I am a single mom with a difficult ex trying to make the best of a bad situation for our children. A man that makes things very difficult.  I could decide to never talk to him and disconnect completely, like a lot of people do for their own sanity, or keep things civil as long as possible for our children.  I chose to do the second but it leaves me always lonely and exhausted and terrified of dating.  I’m also terrified of being alone forever.  I love love.  I love to be held at night.  I love taking care of someone and knowing they also take care of me.  I love having someone to turn to and someone to laugh with and someone to walk through this life.  I don’t have that anymore.  The truth is, when I had it before, it wasn’t real.  He had a good act for a long time.  10 years to be exact.  I was just too trusting to know that he had a whole other life going on when he left home to head to work.  All of it lies.  Which is why I’m a single mom who takes her children to the doctor for checkups, the dentists for clean teeth.  The one who takes care of them when they’re sick and the one who tucks them in the bed every night.  I’m the one that makes sure they have clean clothes and helps them with their baths.  I’m the one that reads to them, with them, and encourages them when they start reading alone.  I’m the one that helps with homework, even when I have to goggle some of the things I don’t understand.  I am the ones that wipes their tears and loves them every day.  I’m the one that pushes them in their interest and compliments them on their hard work.  I’m the one that cheers for them at everything they do because I am proud of them, but I’m also the one doing it alone.  I have no one to look at when I’m laughing because they are so silly, or when I’m so proud I cry.  I have no one to make eye contact with and feel it with because even when he’s there, he doesn’t feel it.  He tries to steal the glory by saying it’s because of his so-called superior genetic trait or he down plays their achievements by pointing out what they didn’t do just right or how it could’ve been better.  So alone I try to repair their hurt when they tell me that Daddy didn’t think it was that great, daddy said I didn’t do it right, or daddy said I got this because of something other than doing a good job.  I do it alone and a lot.  So I’m a single lonely mom but a happy, thankful mom.  I did get to have them.  For that I am blessed.   I just wish there was someone to share it with and someone to get excited with and so happy and proud we cry.  I just wish when I close my eyes to sleep at night that someone was there to hold me.  Oh how I miss arms around me.  Even if the love wasn’t real.  It was real to me before I knew it was not.

The nights are always so lonely.

13 thoughts on “Single Mom Loneliness

  1. I just read this, and it is heartbreaking. It makes me angry that your ex husband’s behavior is so wicked. Probably more because I feel like you’re a friend of mine and I don’t like anyone hurting my friends. I would have called law enforcement immediately when the family jewelry, photos, and Wii were “stolen” from your home. I get why some people go back and forth with their ex’s, it’s all very juvenile but none of that should ever be taken out on the innocent children. They were born into this, they didn’t choose it. Hang in there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I’m doing better…I think. It comes in waves like most everything else in life. At least I know that and I just wait it out until I make it back to the Summit. Back to my happy existence. I’ve always been strong. I’m stronger than everything he’s done to me and the stuff that he still attempts to do. I refuse to hate him or be angry with him because that is bad for our kids to have to see or deal with and anger doesn’t do anything but tear apart the person who’s feeling it. He’s the one with the problem.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly. As hard as it is you must forgive and get on with your life. Embrace the good people around you. Staying angry at someone only eats you up. Never drink the poison hoping that other person dies. It’ll only destroy you.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I can Relate to this completely. I wasn’t married but I do have a toxic cycle with the father of my child. Whom does not understand the significance of co parenting. As if it wasn’t hard enough with two people to begin with but It does get better.

      Liked by 2 people

      • It’s hard but it is what it is. At least I know I’m the one with a good head on my shoulders and I’ve always known right from wrong. Some days are just harder than others. I’m learning to roll with it. It is so exhausting though. Whew! I’m glad I’m not a person who’s is that exhausting to everyone around them. What a burden! Thanks for you comment! I’m so sorry you can related!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Prayer helped me. As a single mom with my daughter father trying to destroy me by being so emotionally manipulative and controlling, only with God as my guide am i going through it. I also go through the thing where he tries to hurt you when he is the one in the wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For a second as I read thus post , I thought that I wrote this. You sound like how I used to be. I mean you sound like me. You said a statement that I always say “I love, love”. Well I know where you coming from and those lonely night’s don’t stop. I still have them, I just don’t lay in them as long as I use to. I jump out of it and put my mind to something else. Well you got this hun..
    #confidentmom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

